home library

March 1, 2010

My entire life we have always had a library in our house. My dad is constantly reading – you can find him nestled in a chair at 4am with a lamp and a book, perfectly content. What I always loved about the various libraries we’ve had over the years is that they weren’t in some far off room, with dust collecting on the books, but rather always built into a family room or front room. Books were always visible, encouraging my sister and I to pick one up at random and begin imagining a new tale, or for our guest to spark up a conversation on the topic of any particular book. Our shelves were often filled with historic and fantasy novels (my dad’s two favorite genres). I remember he would read to us the Hobbit, by J.R.R. Tolkien , and I would fall asleep in his arm listening to his deep voice enacting the characters.

I can’t wait to own a house and build my perfect library. I always imagine how I want it to be, the colors and fabrics, the smell of old and new books that fill the shelves. The warmth of a library and a good book in your hands might be one of the best things in life.

Just a few ideas to fuel my imagination…

Images by Home-Designing and Renovation Design Group

(Seriously, I love the color coded books – amazing)

2 Responses to “home library”


  1. I love home libraries and those are some great ideas! I wish I had one like that!


Leave a comment